Gluten intolerance or coeliac disease is a chronic disease in the small intestine. When suffering from gluten intolerance, you become ill from eating the protein gluten found in wheat, barley, rye and oats*. Gluten intolerance is often diagnosed in childhood, but the symptoms can appear at all ages. Close to 50,000 Danes have problems with gluten. The symptoms of gluten intolerance can be:
When you suffer from gluten intolerance the only treatment is to avoid gluten. The disease requires a lifelong gluten-free diet. This means you cannot eat wheat, rye, barley or oats*, or any foods containing these cereals.
To the people suffering from gluten intolerance and their families this often means they have to make most of their food from scratch. This can, however, sometimes be difficult and the result is not always as good with gluten-free flour as with normal flour containing gluten. Among others because gluten makes the dough rise and forms the fine network in bread during baking that prevents it from collapsing.
Gluten gives the dough an elastic membrane enabling it to rise. The elasticity prevents gasses from escaping the dough. The bread becomes fluffy, bigger and maintains its shape.
Naturally gluten-free flour like millet, corn, rice and buckwheat are just as nutritious as gluten-containing flour, but they have a pourer rising ability and bread and cakes crumble easily. It requires great accuracy and good kitchen utensils to achieve a good result in gluten-free baking. Yeast dough and sourdough must be stirred for a long time ( up to 20 minutes) to ensure the bread does not fall apart.
FiberHUSK® contains no gluten, but it improves the rising ability in gluten-free flour, giving you a more staple bread that does not crumble. As an extra bonus you also get a more fibre rich diet.
With FiberHUSK® you can bake nice, firm bread and buns from gluten-free flour. FiberHUSK® is a 100 % natural fibre product based on Psyllium husks that contain 85 % fibres.
You can find gluten-free recipes with FiberHUSK® here.
* Oats contain no gluten in itself, but products made from oats often contain traces of gluten from other cereals and people suffering from gluten intolerance should therefore only use special gluten-free oats.